Introduction to Scriptures in Review

My main resolution for 2015 is to prepare to meet my Savior. That is really it! I hope that that desire, that goal, will govern my actions, thoughts, feelings, and even my tongue.

I believe that there is a reason that the Lord told us what the first two great commandments are: Thou shalt love the Lord they God with everything you have and are; and, thou shalt love they neighbor as thyself. That really is the whole law. Everything hangs in the balance of that.

I have written some points of personal emphasis to direct me in my quest to more fully know God and to be prepared to meet both my Heavenly Father and His Son Jesus Christ. I think that as we look inward and heavenward, we all know those areas that cry for our personal attention. I feel comforted and blessed to have been given this list that will bless my life in 2015; and, hopefully, by trying to incorporate my goals into my life, based upon my faith and understanding of the gospel, I will be able to bless the lives of those around me. I hope so.

I will not share my whole list with you. But here are a few key points: Pray more and with more sincerity. Ask more, question, seek, ponder, search. Listen more to the Spirit and with the Spirit. Ponder more, search yourself and seek to do God’s will. Read more, especially about the life and mission of Jesus Christ. Study more. Write more: journal and reflect; blog and respect. Listen more to others; seek understanding; give love. Speak less. Guard your tongue; show love.

Avoid contention; keep the Spirit in your part of conversations; distance yourself from unholy communications; walk away as necessary, but don’t slam the door on your way out.

Love more; Give service more willingly and freely. Pray for opportunities to serve. Search and seek opportunities. Look at justserve.org. Look at your own strengths and desires. Can you tutor or teach? Be willing to do what the Lord makes available.

Become less afraid of work. God will help you.

Give more thanks to God and to others. Be more appreciative; but, don’t be a glutton.

So in keeping with my list and my goal to prepare to meet my Savior, I think that it is most fitting that I begin this year with a personal study of the New Testament and the life of my Lord while he walked among men. It is His example I will try to emulate. Since He is my Way home to God, I will seek to become like Him; and the more I am able to do that, the closer I will be in my preparation to meet Him and see Him as He is.

I hope that you will follow my reflections as I read the chapters in the New Testament. I hope that my thoughts will inspire some. They are not profound; but, hopefully, they will show an increase in the development of my love Him, and also help bring you closer to Him as you reflect on His life as well.

Please feel free to share and comment on these posts. Please remember common courtesy and kindness. As the writer and moderator of this blog, I reserve the right to only allow comments which I deem appropriate. Thank you in advance for your time in reading.

Leave a Reply

