A Time for Reflection

Today while reading in Matthew Chapter 21,
I couldn’t help but think of the following song when I pictured Jesus entering the city of Jerusalem:

  Tell Me the Stories of Jesus

Tell me the stories of Jesus I love to hear;
Things I would ask Him to tell me if He were here;
Scenes by the wayside, tales of the sea,
Stories of Jesus, tell them to me.

First let me hear how the children stood round His knee,
And I shall fancy His blessing resting on me;
Words full of kindness, deeds full of grace,
All in the love light of Jesus’ face.

Tell me, in accents of wonder, how rolled the sea,
Tossing the boat in a tempest on Galilee;
And how the Maker, ready and kind,
Chided the billows, and hushed the wind.

Into the city I’d follow the children’s band,
Waving a branch of the palm tree high in my hand;
One of His heralds, yes, I would sing
Loudest hosannas, “Jesus is King!”

Show me that scene in the garden, of bitter pain;
Show me the cross where my Savior for me was slain;
Sad ones or bright ones, so that they be
Stories of Jesus—tell them to me.

Words: W. H. Parker; Music: Frederic A. Challinor

20 Childrens Band (Insert post)

This was one of my favorite Primary songs as a child, and it remains so.

“Into the city I’d follow the children’s band.”

I am thankful for the choice I’ve made to read the New Testament this year. It has been nearly three weeks, and I can honestly say that I love the Savior more and His Spirit is with me more. I would encourage everyone to begin his or her own personal study. You will gain more in that way, in studying the scriptures for yourself, than by reading anyone else’s words. I will continue to write this blog, but I know that there are things that I’ll gain that I cannot pass on to any reader. I write this in sincere humility and gratitude, not in a boastful manner; because, the Lord is ready to hear us all. When we ask, He will answer; when we seek, we will find; when we knock, He will open the door unto us.

Yesterday my husband and I conversed about a sacrament meeting that we attended. The main speaker was a humble man with a simple, profound message that really touched our hearts. But, there was any extra ten minutes or so left to the normal conclusion time of that the meeting, and another good man filled in that time. Even though he had a good message and a good personal style, and even though he has a great love for the Lord, his message detracted from the spirit of the meeting which had been set by the sweetness of that message which preceded his. At least it did for us.

My husband said that he thought that the last speaker may have shared things that he acquired through personal study that were only meant for him and not for the congregation. I’m not sure if that is so or not. I think he had a great message, and he delivered a good talk. There just was a stark contrast between the two, in my opinion. (But we never know who else is in tune to be touched by the message of one and who is in tune to be touched by the message of another.) But what my husband said caused me to think further about what I share and if I am too eager in my desire to share the gospel that sometimes I share more than the Spirit would have me share.

While we were talking together, I told my husband how I felt like I should do this blog for many reasons: first, it will make me stick to a gospel study schedule and be accountable to read and write each day; second, if I can help others in this journey and help them feel of our Savior’s love for them, my extra effort in writing down my thoughts and impressions will be so worth it (especially if others are encouraged to study for themselves); third, I believe that one of my gifts is discernment and another is writing, and this gives me an opportunity to work on my gifts as I gain more knowledge about my Savior and as I seek to serve Him through the talents He has given me.

I told my husband though, that if there were things that were private that I shouldn’t share, that I would withhold those things from being uploaded to this blog. Last night, the Spirit held me to that. The sweetness of His presence is always incredible and full of love; but, it still was a challenge for me to omit sections of what I wrote, so as not to be an offense to Him and to build a trusting relationship between us.

So my focus may change in writing this blog. I am grateful to the few who have read and made comments; especially those who have expressed that they have stepped up in their own study. That’s really what we need to encourage each other to do.

We live in a world where we want recognition; we seek praise and the favor of men all too often. But our Lord ever tells us that it is our humility, our submissiveness, and our willingness to bend to our Father’s will that will add glory to Him in perfect praise and deliver us from this sorrowful realm into a much more glorious existence with Him. The Greatest of all submitted perfectly to His Father’s will and became the servant of all. So to become like Him, we need to cast aside our desires for self-promotion and seek to be like Him, submitting ourselves ever more readily to do His will. To become like Him, we need to desire that all are able and given the chance to choose to partake of His goodness for themselves.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy your journey. The year is hastening on so quickly.

Leave a Reply

