A Thank You to Saint Matthew

I have finished reading The Gospel According to Saint Matthew. I have read the New Testament many times before; but this month’s reading has been especially wonderful; because I have not only read, but have jotted down notes and impressions, spent time pondering, and taken the time to write a post for each chapter.

29 Smiling Jesus

A Smiling Jesus, by Nancy Lee Moran

Do we ever think about the writers?

Dear Saint Matthew,

Thank you for writing this testament. You have made the Savior more alive in me and in my life because of your recorded words which have been confirmed by the Spirit of the Holy Ghost. I thank you for your honesty and integrity and your sacrifice to bring the Lord’s words into my home and into my heart. I can’t imagine the agony it must have been to live in those times and be the Lord’s most valiant, valuable, defending members. Thank you for hearing His plea to take the gospel into all the world and to make that possible because of your written record.

May God bless you forever and ever,

A Humble Reader and Seeker of Truth.

I am thankful for the many gifts God has given me, especially for the gift of His Beloved, Only Begotten Son. Jesus is my Lord and God, my King and Friend. I know He lives. Not because I’ve seen Him, but I’ve felt His presence, and the witness of the Holy Ghost confirms that He lives and that He is the True Way back home to God.

My heart and soul are filled with the wonder of His love for me and for you. If we can be true to Him, like He was true to us, we can have joy in His presence forever.

I Stand All Amazed

I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me,
Confused at the grace that so fully he proffers me.
I tremble to know that for me he was crucified,
That for me, a sinner, he suffered, he bled and died.

I marvel that he would descend from his throne divine
To rescue a soul so rebellious and proud as mine,
That he should extend his great love unto such as I,
Sufficient to own, to redeem, and to justify.

I think of his hands pierced and bleeding to pay the debt!
Such mercy, such love and devotion can I forget?
No, no, I will praise and adore at the mercy seat,
Until at the glorified throne I kneel at his feet.

(Chorus)

Oh, it is wonderful that he should care for me
Enough to die for me!
Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me!

Text and music: Charles H. Gabriel

Leave a Reply

