Remembering our strength and our safety: Fifteen years after

Bob wrote a great piece today. We would all do well to look back and remember.

Doctor Bob's Weblog

We will never forget

It has been fifteen years since the heartrending, gut-wrenching events of September 11, 2001. Every time I come across a photo or a video from that terrible week, I feel the same pains that I felt back then. Those events left a deep impact on me. I am not aware of any personal connection to any of the individuals who lost their lives in those unspeakable acts of terror: my personal connection was actually to the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center. But that’s another story.

Since that awful day, we have seen many pictures, many memes, and many quotes. Two in particular are very problematic to me. The first is “We will never forget;” the second is “United we stand.” Allow me to explain why these are bothersome.

It has only been fifteen years, and it appears that we have forgotten. Immediately following the attacks, Americans turned to…

View original post 1,178 more words

Leave a Reply

